Lacy doily bunting


I wish I had made this discovery before our wedding, but it wasn’t until my birthday party in July that I had a total brainwave on how to make pretty bunting easily on a budget. I’d toyed with making bunting before, but fabric bunting can be quite faffy if you need lots of it, so I gave up on the idea.

This method is quick and easy and will make you around 100m of bunting for the grand total of £4.50 (I guarantee you will not find such a good deal buying the stuff!)

You will need:

  • 100 doilies (I got mine for £1 from a pound store)
  • A ball of string
  • Scissors
  • Glue
Making the bunting
Fold each doily (see below) to make 8 triangles. Cut these out.
Now, fold the top end over a piece of string and glue down…
Space your triangles a few cm apart and keep folding and gluing. Each doily will make around 1m of bunting. You could experiment with other papers etc, but this is by far and away the quickest and cheapest effect I’ve found to get an effective and pretty look.
If you need tonnes of the stuff, this is quite an easy one to delegate out to friends who want to help out as it really is very simple and should end up with a fairly uniform effect.. or, if you want to make it social, why not have a bunting making party over a few glasses of wine!

5 Comments

Filed under Budget tips, Decorations and creative stuff, first home, newly wed, Uncategorized, Wedding reception

5 responses to “Lacy doily bunting

  1. This is so pretty Maria!
    There’s another version of doily bunting here, that requires even less cutting! http://www.flickr.com/photos/shmilydesign/4481104996/in/photostream/
    🙂 Verena

  2. Pingback: cupcake delights! | budgetcitybride

  3. Pingback: Budgety in the city « Budget City Wife

Leave a comment